Supreme Court to hear plea of 10 rebel Karnataka MLAs today | India News


NEW DELHI: In the midst of a deepening crisis for the Congress-JD(S) coalition in Karnataka, 10 rebel MLAs from the two parties on Wednesday moved the Supreme Court seeking a direction to the assembly Speaker to accept their resignations and stop threatening them with disqualification.
Senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi mentioned their joint petition before CJI Ranjan Gogoi for urgent hearing, preferably on Wednesday itself. But the CJI ordered it to be listed for hearing on Thursday before an appropriate bench. This would mean it will be heard by a bench headed by Justice S A Bobde.
The MLAs who moved the writ petition are Pratap Gouda Patil, Ramesh Jarkhiholi, Byrati Basavaraj, B C Patil, S T Somashekar, Arbail Sivaram Hebbar, Mahesh Kumathalli, K Gopalaiah, H D Vishwanath and Narayan Gowda. The respondents are state of Karnataka, Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar, chief minister HD Kumaraswamy and the Centre. In the 222-member House, BJP has 104 members, Congress 78, JDS 37, BSP 1, Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party 1 and one independent.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here